The Shining Path of Least Resistance

LeastResistance.Net

My Masters Report

Posted by mattray on April 4, 2009

UT Graduation

I recently graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with a Masters in Software Engineering. I had a pretty good time getting the degree, especially since I enjoy most aspects of software development, from the business to the code. I also was fortunate enough to work with Dr. Eric White at the Center for Agile Technology, who helped me figure out my topic for my masters report and was invaluable for feedback and suggestions. We were both fascinated by the application of wikis towards permeating traditional documentation venues and the continued expansion of wiki-concepts into other areas of software development. So from our discussions and research, my paper emerged as “Overloaded Use of Wikis in Collaboration Software and Software Engineering”. It touches on wiki concepts and their expansion into other areas of development through Wikipedia, Trac, FitNesse and Deki. I figure I’ll split it up into a series of blog posts, but for the impatient folks out there, here’s the PDF.

Leave a Reply

 
