The Shining Path of Least Resistance

LeastResistance.Net

My New Gig

Posted by mattray on April 18, 2008

In case you hadn’t heard, I recently left my old job for a new job at Zenoss, an Open Source Enterprise Systems Management company. I am now the Community Manager, which is essentially a technical liaison between Zenoss and the Open Source developer community. My job is to help build, strengthen and support Zenoss’ community because they are the ones who use and help support, direct and write the software we provide as a company. I’ll be active in every community-facing aspect I can, and you’ll find me on the forums and mailing lists, IRC, blogs and email asking lots of questions and trying to find as many answers as I can.

While my last job was at one of “The Big 4” as a Java developer, I had a Linux consulting company on the side and I’ve been involved with the Open Source community in one form or another for over 10 years. I’ve worked in Systems Management, retail, distributed computing, banking, scientific and educational software over the years and I’ve been at several startups and founded a few myself. While I’m a fairly new to the Python community, I’ve coded in Java, Ruby, Perl, C, Lisp and many other languages professionally and for fun so I hope to get into the swing of things pretty fast.

I’ll be posting stuff here and at the Zenoss Blog from time to time on my experiences. Feel free to contact me with feedback, questions or answers:

  • Email: mray@zenoss.com
  • AIM: mrayzenoss
  • Twitter: mattray
  • IRC: #zenoss on irc.freenode.net as mrayzenoss
6 Responses to “My New Gig”

  1. […] My New Gig « The Shining Path of Least Resistance One of my friends, Matt Ray, is now a community manager at Zenoss. (tags: mray zenoss austin itmanagement opensource itmanagementguys communitymanager) […]

  2. Zenoss junkie said

    Wasn’t Mark Hinkle community manager? Will he still be around?

  3. mray said

    Mark is definitely still around, he’s the VP of Community for Zenoss. I’ll be working with him and Zenoss development.

  4. […] excellent folks I’ve worked with previously and know for a quit some time, among them: Matt Ray and Chip Holden. (I’ll let the others, who haven’t posted a public “I’m […]

  5. […] Flickr More Photos « My New Gig […]

  6. […] , the architecture and the logic to how a network functions. At this point I feel someone like Matt Ray is going to pop up in the comments to state on how Zenoss does this in the enterprise edition or […]

Leave a Reply

 
